|
[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]
[Dshield] Re: Forcing Registrars To Clean Up Their Data |  |
- Subject: [Dshield] Re: Forcing Registrars To Clean Up Their Data
- From: 3a8d7z001 at sneakemail.com (George)
- Date: Mon May 5 14:06:22 2003
 |
| |
Just my experience with faulty whois info, for what its worth...
I think that "force" might be too strong a word when it
comes to correcting whois data, but maybe thats just me.
I've reported various dubious registrations using the
InterNIC complaint form.
Never seen anything happen. Never had any response.
So, for this one, I tried a more direct approach.
The below is a back and forth between me and Network Solutions.
I still have no idea what they meant by their first reply...
Make what you will of it, but for me the most interesting part
is the following:
The validity of the information in the WHOIS database is
important to us. Therefore, upon notification of inaccurate
or unreliable contact information, Network Solutions, will
take reasonable steps to investigate that claim.
[...]
If you have encountered what you believe to be inaccurate or
unreliable contact information, we ask that you provide us with
evidence of this information. This evidence would consist of a
copy of the returned postal mail. Please fax the returned mail
to 703-668-7831, Attn: Breach of Contract. Once approved, Network
Solutions, will initiate a formal investigation.
So, this went the InterNIC route, too.
Guess what? At this time the registration I reported both
directly to Network Solutions and InterNIC is still there.
I'm not in China, don't know anybody who is, and
I'm not going to the effort of following this up as
the "dereck jonson" creation has, according to someone
in news.admin.net-abuse.email, many fake domains used
to host spamvertised websites.
Regards,
George
(The below is reconstructed from various emails.)
My first message, using Network Solutions' webform...
> Name: George
> Topic: NSI-hosted Other
> Comment: I have some doubt about the accuracy of the WHOIS info below.
>
> This domain name is being used to host
> UBE-advertised pages.
>
> <-- WHOIS data follows -->
> 01/16/03 20:10:25 whois www.nclpower.com
> .com is a domain of USA & International Commercial
> Searches for .com can be run at http://www.crsnic.net/
>
> whois -h whois.crsnic.net nclpower.com ...
> Redirecting to NETWORK SOLUTIONS, INC.
>
> whois -h whois.networksolutions.com nclpower.com ...
> [... snip legal ...]
>
> Registrant:
> dereck jonson (ODXFRMIAHD)
> sh
> null
>
> Domain Name: NCLPOWER.COM
>
> Administrative Contact:
> jonson, dereck (WHQIBNRNKI) [EMAIL PROTECTED]
>
> sh
> sh, sh 543003
> cn
> 86-0021-11111111 86-0021-11111111
> Technical Contact:
> jonson, dereck (OIRVZOSEXI) [EMAIL PROTECTED]
>
> sh
> sh, sh 543003
> cn
> 86-0021-11111111 86-0021-11111111
>
> Record expires on 21-Oct-2003.
> Record created on 21-Oct-2002.
> Database last updated on 16-Jan-2003 15:10:28 EST.
>
> Domain servers in listed order:
>
> NS0.DNS2YOU.COM 218.5.79.113
> NS1.DNS2YOU.COM 218.5.79.114
>
>
> type: NSI-managed
Network Solutions reply to my first message.
> Dear George,
>
> Thank you for contacting Network Solutions.
>
> With regard to your inquiry, although we appreciate
> your interest in the activities of our domain holders
> it is not the responsibility of Network Solutions,
> to "police" the Internet.
>
> On November 1, 1999, a three-judge panel of the U. S.
> Court of Appeals for the Ninth-Circuit ruled that Network
> Solutions has no responsibility or duty to police the rights
> of trademark owners concerning domain names.
>
> If the domain owner in question is conducting criminal
> activity we would ask you to defer to either the police
> or the proper authorities.
>
> Best regards,
>
> Adonis001
> Network Solutions, Inc.
> http://www.networksolutions.com
>
My second message to Network Solutions.
> > > Topic: NSI-hosted Other
> > > Comment: I have some doubt about the accuracy of the WHOIS info below.
> > >
> > > This domain name is being used to host
> > > UBE-advertised pages.
> > >
> [...]
> > With regard to your inquiry, although we appreciate
> > your interest in the activities of our domain holders
> > it is not the responsibility of Network Solutions,
> > to "police" the Internet.
> >
> > On November 1, 1999, a three-judge panel of the U. S.
> > Court of Appeals for the Ninth-Circuit ruled that Network
> > Solutions has no responsibility or duty to police the rights
> > of trademark owners concerning domain names.
> >
> > If the domain owner in question is conducting criminal
> > activity we would ask you to defer to either the police
> > or the proper authorities.
> >
> > Best regards,
> >
> > Adonis001
> > Network Solutions, Inc.
> > http://www.networksolutions.com
>
>
> I apologise for not being clearer in my original message.
>
> There appears to be inaccurate WHOIS info for the domain 'NCLPOWER.COM'.
>
>
> Regarding the information in my previous message, the main point
> was relating to the suspect registration information.
> The comment on the use of the domain was just FYI, as this is
> how I became aware of the problem (through UBE).
> This has already been reported to the appropriate ISP by me and many
> others, and the domain does not resolve at this time.
>
> For future reference, would you prefer me to use the following page
> for these type of reports?
>
> "Whois Data Problem Report"
> http://reports.internic.net/cgi/rpt_whois/rpt.cgi
>
>
> Best regards
> George
Network Solutions reply to my second message.
> Dear George,
>
> Thank you for contacting Network Solutions.
>
> The validity of the information in the WHOIS database is
> important to us. Therefore, upon notification of inaccurate
> or unreliable contact information, Network Solutions, will
> take reasonable steps to investigate that claim.
>
> It is the responsibility of the domain name registrant to
> maintain current information. It is possible however, that
> the registrant does not realize that there is an error in
> their contact information. We will notify the registrant
> and request that the information be updated appropriately.
>
> If you are the registrant or the domain name's guardian and
> would like to make changes to your domain name record, please
> visit our Web site at http://www.networksolutions.com and click
> the "Account Manager" tab.
>
> If you have encountered what you believe to be inaccurate or
> unreliable contact information, we ask that you provide us with
> evidence of this information. This evidence would consist of a
> copy of the returned postal mail. Please fax the returned mail
> to 703-668-7831, Attn: Breach of Contract. Once approved, Network
> Solutions, will initiate a formal investigation.
>
> Best Regards,
>
> Artemus001
> Network Solutions Inc.
> www.networksolutions.com
>
| |