|
[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]
RE: [Dshield] Whois info for .gov domain |  |
- To: "'General DShield Discussion List'" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
- Subject: RE: [Dshield] Whois info for .gov domain
- From: "Keith Bergen" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
- Date: Thu, 2 Oct 2003 18:25:57 -0400
- In-reply-to: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
- Old-x-envelope-to: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
- Reply-to: General DShield Discussion List <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
- Sender: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
 |
| |
Actually, no. It wasn't spoofed. It actually referenced a .gov domain web
site that I was to take a survey at. I looked at the source code of the html
that made up the email, and it specifically referenced that domain, and not
using any tricks like http://[EMAIL PROTECTED]/. The headers
showed that it came from the same domain. It was real weird. I actually ran
it by another friend of mine ... Just to be doubly sure.
Anyhow, I emailed abuse@, webmaster@, the admin contact for an associated
.com that was referenced, and Network solutions (the tech contact for the
referenced .com). The only one that didn't bounce was Network Solutions, and
they flat-out said that they couldn't do anything.
That left me with the question ... Who do you complain to?
Keith.
-----Original Message-----
From: [EMAIL PROTECTED] [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED] On Behalf
Of John Sage
Sent: Thursday, October 02, 2003 2:57 PM
To: General DShield Discussion List
Subject: Re: [Dshield] Whois info for .gov domain
Wait, wait, wait, whoa, whoa, whoa!
On Thu, Oct 02, 2003 at 10:00:41AM -0400, Keith Bergen wrote:
/* snip */
> I am looking for
> somebody to send a SPAM complaint from a .gov address.
Are your talking about spam from a *.gov domain?
gee..
Any possibilty it could be spoofed?
_______________________________________________
list mailing list
[EMAIL PROTECTED]
To change your subscription options (or unsubscribe), see: http://www.dshield.org/mailman/listinfo/list
| |